©2019 by Gisborne & District Bowling Club. Proudly created with Wix.com


Chicken & Champagne Tournament Sponsored by TD Automotive Services

Pictured: The winning team from Bannockburn with tournament organiser, Dorothy Evans (centre)

The 2020 annual Chicken and Champagne Tournament was held on Friday 22 February. This much-anticipated annual event was bigger and better than ever this year and attracted 24 teams from Kyneton, Sunbury, Esendon, Trentham, Kilmore, Wallan, Maribyrnong Park, Golden Square, Lancefield, Melton, Bannockburn, Castlemaine, Broadford, Aberfeldie, Harcourt, Woodend, as well as Gisborne - a total of 96 players.

Participants enjoyed a day of bowling and fun, including raffles, door prizes, lucky numbers and a delicious luncheon and afternoon tea, as well as the champagne which flowed freely throughout the day. 

This year's winner was Geof Taylor's team from Bannockburn, which won both games and scored 34 points, beating Jenny Holburtn's team from Golden Square on a count back. Interestingly, a team from Bannockburn were runners up last year. The best last game was won by Dianne Marsh's team from Maribyrnong Park. 

Thanks go to all Gisborne cub members who assisted with organising the day, including (but not limited to) Teresa who was in charge of catering and her crew; all our drink waters and food servers; Robyn for the stalls and Dorothy for organising the teams.

A special thanks to the major sponsor - TD Automotive Services. Without our sponsors we  would not be able to run these events so we encourage all attendees and members to patronise our sponsors wherever possible.

Champion Bowlers Make Their Mark -  Gisborne Gazette December 2019

Congratulations to Gisborne bowler Kevin Jarred who on 7 November won the Central Highlands Bowls Division over 60s singles competition. Kevin played extremely well on the final day, defeating Kyneton players Wayne Turner in the semi-final with a score of 21 to 10, and Terry Kelly in the final with a score of 21 to 9.

This was an outstanding achievement as the event is open to players over 60 years of age from clubs within the Division, which includes Bacchus Marsh, Diggers Rest, Kyneton, Kyneton Golf, Lancefield, Macedon, Romsey, Trentham, Wallan, and Woodend, so there are a lot of contenders, making it a challenging title to win. Also, while the event is open to all players over 60 years of age, Kevin is on the cusp of turning 80 and is the oldest player ever to win the event.

On the same day, Teresa Wylie achieved runner‑up in the Ladies Over 60s singles. Teresa narrowly lost against state player from Kyneton, Desma Budd, with a score line of 18‑21.

Congratulations also go to Marg Ivory, Teresa Wylie, and Louise Ball on winning the Central Highlands Bowling Division ladies triples final on 20 October this year. Well done ladies.

Pictured: Teresa Wylie and Kevin Jarred